Attack on live action

By now most of you must have, at least, heard about the anime “Attack on Titan” (Shingeki no kyojin) and a majority of those who have seen it acknowledge that it’s a great show, both in terms of story and animation, the later being top-notch that’s for sure. I’ve already seen it twice, once when it came out and later with my lil sis, and I’m eagerly awaiting the release of the second season next year (until then I’ll get whatever piece of shingeki’s manga I get).

But I’m kind of sceptical on how things are going now, call me paranoid, old fashioned or whatever but the announced live action movies adaptation gets a little on my nerves. Don’t get me wrong here, I’m not against diversification and different approaches, on the contrary, usually I welcome every last bit of of new content we can get but one thing must be acknowledged, live action adaptations haven’t had the best results in the past, usually turning out in poor pieces. As I said a few days ago, one of my worst fears with this was the rumors of a live action Evangelion… *shivers shivers*

(Do I need to say anything else??)

Then again, maybe things aren’t that grim for live actions from now on, recently at least one has stood from the crowd and we considered it rather good – Rurouni Kenshin – and although it can be argued that is a simpler setting to reproduce than something more supernatural/tech advanced, the film stood by its story and had a cast that played the part in a more natural way (I mean, not forced and artificial like what we get in most of this kind). So now we’re getting two live action movies of Shingeki no Kyojin. the first one having an encouraging trailer (and something I found hilarious but a right decision – the fact that there isn’t anyone as good as Levi to play the part so they haven’t included the character) and later, as news reported today, a live action series that will act as a bridge between the said movies (for those who are asking, it will premiere in august). I’m crossing my fingers that they make a good work out of this, in a way most of us can enjoy and not hide it in some obscure corner of the world but I’ll stay calm and cautious untill the first one gets out. If the film or the series are bad, well I won’t bitch about it either, just be disappointed and go on with my life XP

Leave a Reply

