Hank Moody is God

Hello again!

Now, being a serious TV-series addict, I follow quite a few shows. Some to the very end, others honestly lose me at some point and others I keep following almost religiously. To name but a few, Supernatural, Game of Thrones, The Big Bang Theory, etc.

But some knocked me hard and grabbed my very soul and shook it like a Polaroid picture (which I know you shouldn’t do!)! Shows like Band of Brothers (which I still feel is the greatest show in the History of television and I re-watched it for the 4th time just this week), Pacific and Showtime’s Californication are prime examples of said shows.

Now being that the first two are World War II related and that ended (thankfully), the series themselves would eventually come to an end. So we’ll discuss Californication, that should still be running, in this post.

For those of you who live under a rock and come out every second week to check your e-mails and hi5 statuses, here is a trailer clip:

Ye young ones be warned, it’s graphic in nature, so avert ye youngling eyes!

Now obviously the show is about a self-proclaimed “one-hit wonder”, Hank Moody (David Duchovny in a fantastic role), who’s going through a tough time in life, both personally and professionally, after having published a best-seller called God Hates Us All (which is actually a book written by “Hank Moody” and Jonathan Grotenstein and it is very good). So, having moved to Los Angeles from New York with his long-time lover Karen (Natascha McElhone) and their young and impressionable daughter Becca (Madeleine Martin), he discovers he hates it and soon becomes a functioning alcoholic.

"What did I drink last night?"
“What did I drink last night?”

So his drinking problems soon affect his family life and Karen leaves him for another man (played by Damian Young), in an attempt to find a stable life. All this leaves Hank in a troubled state of mind, where he tries to be a good father to his daughter, tries to get his writing back in order with the help of his best friend and agent Charlie Runkle (Evan Handler) and…  well… in the meantime gets involved with LA’s night life of sex, drugs and rock and roll. This leads to a series of hilarious situations that Hank has to get out of, all the while balancing his personal and professional life and trying not to screw it all up.

"Yeah, I know they're chick glasses, but I make them work, dammit!!"
“Yeah, I know they’re chick glasses, but I make them work, dammit!!”

So, not to give to much away, that’s the gist of the plot, that lasts for a fantastic seven season run, filled with the aforementioned sex, drugs and rock n’ roll. Every season pulled me more towards the drunk writer, and made me want to be a writer after every show.

200_s

And all through it, the soundtrack is something awesome, ranging from classic rock musicians like Warren Zevon to rap artists like RZA (who actually joins the cast for season 5) that adds perfection to the overall emotional side of every episode and also makes the show a homage of the rock culture.

And so, after seven great seasons, the show ended. Although it ended in a slightly predictable way, at least in my opinion, I adored every minute and honestly miss the show and all the nutty characters.

For me Hank Moody is God!

One comment

Leave a Reply

