Just read/About to read

batman

Yesterday I went to the library. I had some books that were due and had a couple more to donate. I wasn’t planning on bringing more books home but, as I rummaged through the shelves, there were a few that caught my eye and I knew I had to read them.

Well, actually, I’m already done with the first one.

Getting even, by Woody Allen.

My personal views on his character aren’t really a matter to be discussed here. What matters is the quality of his humouristic essays. And I may say they are brilliant. Obviously they all sort of fall on the nonsense category but the depth of knowledge the author shows and the kind of jokes he makes – especially regarding philosophy and psychology – sort of requires the reader to, at least, be somewhat into these subjects to get them.

I must say, I haven’t had such a good time reading a book in a long while.

Not all essays were perfect, for me, but the majority were so, so good. I just had to read so many passages out loud to Mekime… Poor thing!

All in all, I give it a solid 4 stars out of 5.

And, my second book, is:

American psycho, by Bret Easton Ellis.

I haven’t watched the film, starring Christian Bale, but I sort of know what will happen. I must confess I sometimes have issues with American authors… I’m not being biased here, but having read so many books from so many different authors, from different nationalities, you start  to see some patterns in the writing itself. And American authors tend to have this dry, blunt, direct speech I’m not really into.

I hope I’m wrong, because I’ve been wanting to read American psycho for years now.

Besides, the only thing I can take from it, for now is the WASP vibe I get from the author’s name. Not much to go on there. Also, I seem to have some sort of trouble memorizing it. Hey, don’t blame me, English is not my first language.

I’ll keep you posted on my opinion (if you even care at all).

3 comments

Leave a Reply

